2020 Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform

By Lin Fang-yi

Curator, Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform

Artist Director, Studio Acht

 

Music is an intangible art form not only because music is invisible but also because musicians explore philosophical contexts and pursue aesthetic practice in the field of sound art with intangible materials. As definitions of music transforms over generations, the way these intangible materials are utilized, the dimensions of sound aesthetics, the relationship between sound and time, and the interactions between space and settings are constantly reinvented. Over the course of a whole century, it turned into a vast and profound art form that is on a par with the development of human technology. The program of the 2020 Contemporary Music Platform which is centered around the theme of “The Visible & The Invisible” aims to transcend the sounds of contemporary music and take audiences on a journey to explore the pulse of creativity behind the compositions. 

The 2020 Contemporary Music Platform has invited Mr. Peter Eötvös, a renowned international authority in the field of contemporary music, to serve as the center’s resident composer in 2020. Mr. Eötvös will not only present numerous personal works that represent milestones in the history of contemporary music at the opening concert but will also serve as the instructor for a composing masterclass. Two documentaries will portray the illustrious career of this maestro in the art of composing and conducting contemporary music. Mr. Eötvös has supported promising young composers and conductors in their professional training and international careers over many years. This special concert and the masterclass achievement concert will be directed by Lin Liao and Su-Han Yang, two of his disciples in Taiwan. Lin Liao will also lead the musicians of the Weiwuying Academy in the rendition of works of young composers who have been protégés of Mr. Eötvös in recent years. These concerts demonstrate the commitment of the Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform to the simultaneous cultivation of music creators and performers.

 

The Ensemble Fabrique Normande from France and bagpipe virtuoso Erwan Keravec will present two highly unique creations that embody the diversity of contemporary music with a fusion of traditional and modern, visible and invisible materials, and sound, humans, and settings. The Ensemble Fabrique Normande’s (In)-Real Sound Surroundings is a quartet arrangement for Karlax, an electronic instrument, violin, cello, and flute. This composition aims to rediscover the spirit of chamber music through an intricate linkage between electroacoustics and instruments in a technological creation process. Embracing the same spirit, violinist Wu Szuhwa, a member of the Ensemble Fabrique Normande, will present Playing on the Edge, a highly innovative violin performance which represents a fusion of the classical, contemporary, and electroacoustic genres and explores all dimensions of solo violin. Bagpipe maestro Erwan Keravec will perform Sonneurs, a piece that transcends traditional bagpipe techniques and styles together with his Breton quartet. A duo performance by Erwan Keravec and professional dancer Mickaël Phelippeau, titled Membre Fantome, explores new performance modes for the bagpipe based on its characteristics as an outdoor instrument. On the foundation of achievements of the Artist Workshop in the previous year, Yunshuyachi Ensemble will present Re-make in Asia, a new creation for Asian instruments including the Erhu (a Chinese two-stringed bowed instrument), Taiko (a Japanese percussion instrument), Shinobue (a Japanese transverse flute), and Janggu (a Korean percussion instrument), featuring a fusion of styles and genres with traditional Asian music as the source of inspiration. 

In terms of professional training, the Weiwuying Academy will enter its second stage, which will encompass actual participation and design of programs and promotion concerts. In the wake of the formation of the “Nanguan Experimental Group” last year, a “Musical Drama Experimental Group” was launched this year to explore new ways to blend drama, dialog, and song by incorporating contemporary music performance modes. 

The Contemporary Music Platform aims to open up new avenues for audiences to gain a better understanding of contemporary music through multidimensional programs including performances, artist workshops, and professional training courses. It also strives to provide a launch pad for stable and broad international careers of local musicians through diversified planning efforts. 
 

【Program】(Cancelled)*

2020/04/11、18、26| Documentary Screening of Peter Eötvös: The Seventh Door / Eötvös 75

2020/04/11|Contemporary Music Platform Opening Concert

2020/04/12| Peter EÖTVÖS Master Class Concert 

2020/04/17、19|  WU Szuhwa “Playing on the Edge”

2020/04/18| The Interconnection of Young Musicians

2020/04/18| Ensemble Fabrique Normande "(In)-Real Sound Surroundings"

2020/04/25| Erwan KERAVEC "SONNEURS"

2020/04/26| Yunshuyachi Ensemble "Re-make in Asia"

【Open Talk & Masterclass】(Cancelled)*

2020/04/11| Peter Eötvös x Wen-pin CHIEN Lecture and Documentary Screening: Eötvös 75

2020/04/16| Ensemble Fabrique Nomade Brings you into(In)-Real Surroundings

2020/04/16| Playing on the Edge

【Workshop】

Weiwuying Academy

Artist Workshop

【International Collaboration】

Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation

*Due to COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2 Infection), please refer to the event website for the change or cancel information.

Copyright © 2020 Studio Acht  All rights reserved.

2020衛武營TIFA—當代音樂平台

文/林芳宜(衛武營當代音樂平台策展人、捌號會所藝術總監)

音樂是無形的藝術,不僅因為聲音不可見,更因為音樂家以無形的素材探究哲思的脈絡、追求聲音藝術的美學實踐。當「音樂」的定義隨著世代轉化時,無形的素材被運用的方法、聲音美學的範疇、乃至聲音與時間的對應關係、與空間和場域的相互作用,也不斷的推陳出新,經過一整個世紀的進程,成為一個廣闊深遠 的藝術領域,與人類科技的發展不分軒輊。2020 年當代音樂平台的展演節目以 「可見 & 不可見」為主題,期待帶領觀眾越過當代音樂的聲響,認識聲響之後的創作脈絡。 

2020 當代音樂平台邀請國際知名的當代音樂巨擘彼得 · 于特福許 (Peter Eötvös) 擔任 2020 年駐節作曲家,除了為開幕音樂會帶來多首當代音樂史上具有指標性的個人作品之外,于特福許將親自教導作曲大師班,同時兩部大師紀錄片也將完 整呈現一位兼具作曲與指揮的世紀大師的藝術生命歷程。于特福許長年支持青年作曲家與指揮家的專業訓練及國際發展,此次專場音樂會與大師班成果音樂會, 將分別由他的兩名臺灣弟子廖曉玲與楊書涵擔綱指揮,廖曉玲也將帶領衛武營演奏者培訓工作坊的音樂家們,呈現于特福許近年培植的青年作曲家作品,實踐衛 武營當代音樂平台對創作與演奏的雙向培育。 

來自法國的游牧工廠室內樂團 (Ensemble Fabrique Normande) 與風笛音樂家克哈維 (Erwan Keravec) 各自帶來兩檔極為獨特的製作,展現當代音樂連結傳統與當代、可見與不可見的素材、聲音與人和場域的多樣性:游牧工廠室內樂團的《虛實聲境》以電子樂器 Karlax 結合小提琴、大提琴與長笛構成四重奏的編制,藉由電聲與 樂器之間縝密的連結,在透過科技創作的過程中,重新找回室內樂的精神。秉持相同的理念,游牧工廠室內樂團成員之一、小提琴家吳思樺帶來創新理念的《遊刃之弦》,以古典、 當代和電聲三種不同類型的小提琴作品,探索小提琴獨奏的各種面向。風笛家克哈維與布列塔尼四重奏帶來顛覆風笛技法與風格的「簧響」,克哈維與舞蹈家米卡耶.費利波的《如影隨形》則為原本即屬於戶外樂器的風笛,開拓另一種演出形式。延續上一年度藝術家工 作坊的成果,雲樹雅集的《亞洲再製造》從亞洲傳統音樂出發,結合二胡、太鼓、篠笛、 杖鼓等亞洲樂器,演出融合風格的新創作。 

在專業培訓的部分,演奏家培訓工作坊進入第二階段,將實際參與自製節目與推廣音樂會; 藝術家工作坊繼上年度的「南管實驗小組」後,今年推出「說唱劇實驗小組」,探索戲曲與說唱藝術結合當代音樂創演的方法。 當代音樂平台的功能,是透過展演、藝術家工作坊、專業培訓等不同面向計畫,為觀眾開啟認識當代音樂的窗口,更藉由平台的多元規劃,為臺灣音樂家建立更穩定、更寬廣的國際發展。 
 

【演出與活動】(取消)*

2020/04/11、18、26| 紀錄片《第七道門》、《75歲的于特福許》放映

2020/04/11|當代音樂平台開幕音樂會

2020/04/12| 彼得.于特福許大師班成果音樂會

2020/04/17、19| 吳思樺《遊刃之弦》

2020/04/18| 創演相生—青年世代的音樂力量

2020/04/18| 游牧工廠室內樂團《虛實聲境》

2020/04/25| 艾爾萬.克哈維《簧響—布列塔尼四重奏》

2020/04/26| 雲樹雅集 《亞洲再製造》

【公開講座】(取消)*

2020/04/11|從音樂家到世代的形成—彼得‧于特福許紀錄片放映暨座談會

2020/04/16|《虛實聲境》講座

2020/04/16|《遊刃之弦》大師班

【工作坊】

演奏培訓工作坊

藝術家工作坊

*因受到COVID-19嚴重特殊傳染性肺炎疫情影響,異動資訊請參考活動網站。

聯絡信箱: info@studioacht.com.tw

Copyright © 2020 捌號會所 All rights reserved.